Skip to content

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award is a prestigious award program that challenges and inspires young people aged 14 to 24. It was founded in 1956 by Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, and is named in honor of Sir Edmund Hillary, the first person to reach the summit of Mount Everest.

Earning the Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award is a significant accomplishment and is recognized and respected around the world. It is a valuable addition to any young person’s resume and is a great way for them to challenge themselves, learn new skills, and make a positive contribution to their communities.

Choose Your Level


Bronze is the first level of The Award, for your Bronze Award you need to complete 13 hours of two sections and 26 hours of one section.

​You can start your Bronze in the year you turn 14.

Bronze Handbook


Silver is the second level of the Award, for Silver you need to complete 26 hours of each section if you have completed Bronze and an additional 13 hours if you haven’t.

You can start your Silver once you have completed Bronze or are 15

Silver Handbook


For Gold you need to complete 12 months of each section if you have completed silver and an additional 26 hours if you haven’t. You also need to complete the Residential Project.
You can start Gold as soon as you have completed Silver or are 16

Gold Handbook

Choose your Pathway


Choose activities and journeys that challenge you, this pathway is great for anyone wanting to follow the classic Award Pathway, build their challenge and gain their Award.

Kākāriki Journey

Choose activities and journeys with an environmental focus. The Kākāriki Journey is an Award endorsement for those who focus their Skill, Service and Journey sections around the environment!

He Aratūtahi

Choose activities with a focus on te ao Māori and the holistic concept of whanaungatanga. This is an endoresment for those who focus theri Service, Skill and Journeys around te ao Māori concepts

Choose Your Activities


Find Your Genius

For the skill section you can use any hobby or mental activity; games, music, arts and building are just some of the many activities you can use. Use something you already do or take up something new!

Physical Recreation

Break a Sweat

For the Physical Recreation section you can use any activity that is for your physical wellbeing. Ball sports, athletics, martial arts and water sports are just a few of the may activities you can do. As a general rule, if it raises your heart rate – it counts

Voluntary Service

Give Back

The Voluntary service section is anything you do to help others; environmental service, youth work and charity service are a few examples. Anything unpaid you do to help people outside of your family will probably count.

Adventurous Journey

Get Wild and Explore

For the Adventurous Journey Section you will complete training for your journey followed by two 2-4 day camps depending on your Award Level. There are many types of camps to go on – biking, kayaking, horse riding, urban or bush to name a few! Find out more about the Adventurous Journey section here.

(Gold) Residential Project

Leave Your Comfort Zone

For the Residential Project you will go on a 5 day trip, with a purpose, away from home with people you don’t know; this could be an environmental, service or educational trip.

Before you do an activity

Remember, before you start any activity for your Award, including Journeys and Residential it MUST be uploaded into your Online Record Book and sent for approval before you start. If an activity is not approved before you begin the activity you CANNOT count it for your Award.